#blogTour #Review: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton @NeverlandBT

Hello Book Lover! Today is my spot in blog tour for The Things We Need to Say, organized by Neverland Blog Tours. Many thanks to author and Jennifer for providing copy of this book. Check out about book, review and giveaway below. 

The Things We Need to Say_Concept.jpg

Publication Date: May 11th 2018

Publisher: HQ Digital

Read Date: June 10 2018

Genre: Women’s Fiction / Contemporary

Pages: 384

Stars: 5/5

5 star_crop

Goodreads blurb_edited

A true novel of the heart, Rachel’s The Things We Need to Say is at once beautifully written and achingly honest. This is a story that carries you away, taking you on an incredibly poignant journey, and which stays with you long after you finish. Read it! Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky

‘Devastatingly beautiful, inspiring and extremely thought provoking; Rachel Burton has written from the heart as she unintentionally becomes the voice of everything we need to say.’ The Writing Garnet

Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

From the best-selling author of The Many Colours of Us comes an emotional story perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan


review_edited

Is love always enough? I believe it varies from person to person but see in this book if that’s enough for Will and Fran or not.

This is contemporary women’s fic about main characters Fran and Will who were struggling in their married life and were trying to make each other happy but in doing so they created lot of mess. It’s truly about the things they need to say to save their marriage and themselves; about how important unspoken feelings are, about hope, faith, being yourself in relationship, and finding happiness within yourself.

Will– perfectionist, organized, divorce lawyer, 8 yrs. older than Fran. He was charmer and successful but his dream of starting family turned to his obsession to the point that he wondered from his marriage and his love. Author created this character so nicely that you can see the both flaws and goodness in him. You can get the clear picture why he did that, it felt genuine and real.

Fran– Yoga practitioner and teacher. Her struggle was visible from the very first chapter. She was lovely, timid but also was strong just she lacked that confidence. I loved the way she cared for Will and put his happiness first but I also didn’t like it she didn’t express herself properly. She was good-hearted and endearing. I loved the way she connected with all retreaters.

I was surprised to find other characters of the book who had small but very important place in story, protagonist’s life, and they made lot more space in my heart as well.

Narration switched mainly between Will and Fran telling their life story, their current problems and struggle and then going back to past when they were young and met first time, alternatively. It was also narrated by Fran’s retreater Elizabeth.

I loved the way their full life was depicted. Topic of miscarriage was handled carefully. It was definitely not easy to handle these many miscarriages for Fran. I could feel her grief and fear of losing Will, it felt so natural. It was bit sad to read Fran and Will’s loss but characters found positivity and hope which made book feel good.

What I loved more apart from Will and Fran’s story was Yoga classes, the retreaters and their thoughts. All retreaters were just amazing. They were so honest and Yoga made them easy to open with each other. They all had their own problems and life story. I can also do little bit yoga but after reading this book I got to know how different it can be when you do them under good teacher’s guidance and with like-minded group.

Book progressed steadily. Things that I assumed occurred early in the book so I couldn’t guess twists in the book and so I enjoyed them more. Last few chapters of the book was just remarkable, I loved beautiful dialogues and quotes. End was lovely and feel good.

Overall, it was heart-touching, inspiring and emotional. I just loved Fran and Will’s story. If you are looking for bit of faith and hope it’s definitely great to read.


Book Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Things-Need-Say-emotional-bestselling-ebook/dp/B076PV3DZ7/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1526812362&sr=1-1&keywords=the+things+we+need+to+say

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37669968-the-things-we-need-to-say?ac=1&from_search=true


 

About Rachel Burton:

IMG_o7m8wq.jpgRachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down. 

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut novel THE MANY COLORUS OF US was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second, THE THINGS WE NEED TO SAY, is out in May 2018. She is currently working on her third book about a woman who followed the love of her life to a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe. 

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday…

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/bookish_yogi

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bookish_yogi

Website: http://www.rachelburtonwrites.com


Giveaway: 

Prize: Bound proof copy of The Things We Need to Say & a pack of Yogi teas

International

To enter click Here ⇒⇒ Rafflecopter Link


What do you think about book and my review? Have you read this book already or any book by this author? Share your thoughts in the comment-box below.

Btr logo

 

Posted by

Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

9 thoughts on “#blogTour #Review: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton @NeverlandBT

Leave a Reply to Books Teacup and Reviews Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.