WEEKLY WRAP-UP #WEEKINREADING (3/2/’20)

Hello readers! Last week was great. I was happy with my month both in reading and in blog stats. I got max views in Jan. I really hope I can maintain that. I also received 3 books last week, I wish to read them this month so I can start Shadow and Bone trilogy next month. Thankfully my family matters are solved so I’m not going home. I will not take one month long hiatus in April as my brother’s marriage is cancelled, but I plan to take a week or two hiatus for my cousin’s wedding.

What I read last week-

The Neighbours by Nicola Gill

47552656. sy475

I enjoyed this book. It was not as good as I expected. These days I really get frustrated with characters. I couldn’t stand Ginny’s whiny voice and wallowing for so long but eventually, in third part of the book, I warmed to her and I absolutely loved Cassie. And I liked the theme and what author portrayed in book. It’s going to 3.5 or 4 stars. I will post review later this week, maybe on publication day.

Friends First by Angela Lam

I finished Friends First late last night. I haven’t gathered my thoughts yet but I can say character were damaged, flawed and developed eventually. It was different. There was attraction but I wouldn’t call it romance. It’s a contemporary fiction about friendship. I liked it. I’ll write review today and review will be up tomorrow on publication day.

What I plan to read next-

The Queen’s Assassin (Queen’s Secret #1) by Melissa de la Cruz

39334176. sy475

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Caledon Holt is the Kingdom of Renovia’s deadliest weapon. No one alive can best him in brawn or brains, which is why he’s the Guild’s most dangerous member and the Queen’s one and only assassin. He’s also bound to the Queen by an impossible vow–to find the missing Deian Scrolls, the fount of all magical history and knowledge, stolen years ago by a nefarious sect called the Aphrasians.

Shadow has been training all her life to follow in the footsteps of her mother and aunts–to become skilled enough to join the ranks of the Guild. Though magic has been forbidden since the Aphrasian uprising, Shadow has been learning to control her powers in secret, hoping that one day she’ll become an assassin as feared and revered as Caledon Holt.

When a surprise attack brings Shadow and Cal together, they’re forced to team up as assassin and apprentice to hunt down a new sinister threat to Renovia. But as Cal and Shadow grow closer, they’ll uncover a shocking web of lies and secrets that may destroy everything they hold dear. With war on the horizon and true love at risk, they’ll stop at nothing to protect each other and their kingdom in this stunning first novel in the Queen’s Secret series.

I wanted to read this book ever since I saw that cover read synopsis. I didn’t have much hope of getting any review copy. And when I got the surprise mail, I was jumping like happy kid and my daughter just laughed seeing me.

You Are Mine by Miranda Rijks

48754294

Rupert has spent years searching for his perfect wife. Now he’s found her.

Her name is Charlotte Aldridge and she’s wonderful. A talented artist, modest and beautiful, she’s everything he ever dreamed of. Her hair, her eyes, her mouth – every little detail is perfect.

Rupert is confident that when they meet, she’ll fall in love with him just as he has with her. After all, he’s a wealthy British aristocrat. And he’s handsome – the relentless gym workouts and extensive plastic surgery have seen to that.

But what if Charlotte can’t see that they’re a perfect fit, that they’re meant for each other? Well, Rupert can be very persuasive. His father taught him certain methods which are extremely effective. Methods that can turn the most determined, ‘I don’t’ into a meek and submissive, ‘I do’….

A chilling, up-all-night psychological thriller, You Are Mine is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards and K. L. Slater

When I read Shalini’s glowing 5 star review I had to check if it’s still available in NetGalley and fortunately it was! I loved Deserve to die by Miranda Rijks last year. I’m sure this will be as good. I downloaded it in December. Now that I’m in mood to read dark books, I’ll read it in weekends.

Let’s discuss!

What did you read last week?
What are you planning to read this week?
Have you read any of these books?

HAPPY READING!!

Footer Banner_edited

booksteacupnreviews.wordpress.com

Follow me on-

Twitter (2)  Instagram (2)  Goodreads (2)  Pinterest (2) facebook-100x100  bloglovin



Posted by

Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

9 thoughts on “WEEKLY WRAP-UP #WEEKINREADING (3/2/’20)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.