WEEKLY WRAP-UP (11/5/’20) #WEEKINREADING #WeeklyWrapup #BooksTeacupnReviews

Hello Readers! There wasn’t anything much last week. I felt this week was slow, maybe the book I read was slow that’s why? Anyway so I read 1 book and half way through the book I started on Sunday.

What I read last week-

Pretty Things by Janelle Brown

52625942. sx318 sy475

This was almost 500 pages long and real slow burner mystery thriller. But I loved second half and when I thought about it, I actually enjoyed character building, their past stories and didn’t mind slow pace. And I loved many quote worthy lines in this book. It wasn’t easy to write review on this. It will be up on Wednesday.

Currently reading-

New Waves by Kevin Nguyen

41830689

Set in the New York City tech world, a wry and edgy debut novel about a heist gone wrong, a secret online life exposed, and a young man’s search for true connection….

Lucas and Margo are fed up. Margo is a brilliant programmer tired of being talked over as the company’s sole black employee, and while Lucas is one of many Asians at the firm, he’s nearly invisible as a low-paid customer service rep. Together, they decide to steal their tech start-up’s user database in an attempt at revenge. The heist takes a sudden turn when Margo dies in a car accident, and Lucas is left reeling, wondering what to do with their secret–and wondering whether her death really was an accident. When Lucas hacks into Margo’s computer looking for answers, he is drawn into her secret online life and realizes just how little he knew about his best friend.

With a fresh voice, biting humor, and piercing observations about human nature, Kevin Nguyen brings an insider’s knowledge of the tech industry to this imaginative novel. A pitch-perfect exploration of race and start-up culture, secrecy and surveillance, social media and friendship, New Waves asks: How well do we really know each other? And how do we form true intimacy and connection in a tech-obsessed world? 

I’m at 45% of this book. I don’t if I like characters or not but writing style is different. It feels like I’m reading series of articles and all of them were put in one book. That online instant messaging in 2009 was shown amazingly. I’m still not seeing who killed Margo.

Next this week-

Shadowed By Despair (Laith #3) by Candace Robinson

Perin expected eternal darkness after his death, yet the land of Laith has other plans for him. Snapped awake with a desperate hunger for flesh, he fights the urge to feed, knowing that once he gives in to temptation, there is no turning back.

Tavarra’s deepest desire was always to be human. When she received her one true wish, the journey had already claimed those she cared about. Alone, she fights through each day, forgetting how to truly live.

To strip away his new curse, Perin needs to retrieve an enchanted liquid and bring it back to the Stone of Desire. Despite his unpredictability, and him being the monster this time, Tavarra chooses to help. Tied by fate and loneliness, they must cross the sea into a deadly part of Laith and find the solution before Perin’s hunger overtakes him.

I enjoyed previous two books in this series. This sounds interesting and that synopsis is big surprise. I thought Perin was dead! I can’t wait to see what happened to him and how Tavarra is going to help him.

This is short book so If I still have time I will read one more book. probably this-

All the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault

For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circumstances and the one girl who may be the key to solving the mystery of his untimely death.

For Ivy, summer means roller-coaster season, spinning cotton candy at the Fabuland amusement park, and hanging out with her best friend, Morgan. But this summer is different.

One morning, Morgan finds a dead body. It’s their former classmate and coworker Ethan. To make matters worse, Morgan is taken to a hospital psych ward only days later, and she’s not saying much–not even to Ivy.

The police claim that Ethan simply took a bad fall, but Ivy isn’t convinced and realizes it’s up to her to get answers. What she finds is unsettling–it’s clear that some people aren’t being honest about Ethan’s last night at Fabuland. Including Morgan. And the more secrets Ivy uncovers, the closer she gets to unraveling dark truths that will change her life forever.

I read many dark books this month. I sure need light book after this.

What did you read last week? What are you planning to read this week? Have you read any of these books or going to add to TBR?

Happy Reading

Follow me-

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive email whenever I publish new post-


Posted by

Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

3 thoughts on “WEEKLY WRAP-UP (11/5/’20) #WEEKINREADING #WeeklyWrapup #BooksTeacupnReviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.