The Kompromat Kill by Michael Jenkins @FailsafeQuery @RRBookTours1 #RRBookTours

Welcome to the blog tour for The Kompromat Kill by Michael Jenkins, another riveting spy thriller from The Failsafe Query series!

The Kompromat Kill (Standalone)
Publication Date: June 2019
Genre: Thriller/ Espionage/ Action/ Spy Thriller

Synopsis:

‘They were preparing for decades – now it’s time to take them down……’

Hiding overseas with a price on his head, Sean Richardson is tasked to lead a deniable operation to hunt down and recruit an international model and spy. Moving across Asia Minor and Europe, Sean embarks on a dangerous journey tracking an Iranian spy ring who hold the keys to a set of consequences the British Intelligence Services would rather not entertain.

As Sean investigates deeper, he uncovers dark secrets from his past and a complex web of espionage spun from the hand of a global master spy. As he inches closer to the truth, the rules of the game change – and the nerve-wracking fate of many lives sits in his hands.

The second in a set of spy thrillers that have been expertly crafted with stunning plot lines, magnificent locations, and twists that leave you gasping for air. Perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, and Scott Mariani.

*Each book is a stadanlone adventure

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45023133-the-kompromat-kill?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=sunx4VFVG3&rank=1

Purchase Link:

Excerpt:

This is a favourite scene of mine that I enjoyed writing. Sean, the main character, is operating under cover, and in the guise of a weapons dealer. His mission is to turn and recruit an International model and Iranian spy, a woman called Nadege. In this scene both of them arrive in Armenia to do a deal with a former Russian Army officer who Sean will pay for some weaponry that Nadege requires to undertake her own mission on behalf of the Iranians. It’s a scene that leads the reader to wonder what on earth will happen next – and what exactly is the weaponry that Nadege hopes will create carnage in Europe…….and where is her target?

They were chaperoned into a large office. A great office, Sean thought. Worthy of a big boss. Sean spied the hefty wooden desk at the end of a large space suitably decorated with objects of war such as swords and guns. And then then were photos on the right-hand wall of soldiers’ faces. A shrine? Were the photos perhaps of old soldiers the big boss man had fought with?

‘I hope your journey was pleasant,’ the man behind the desk said, standing up to greet his guests. ‘Please take a seat.’

Sean and Nadège sat on two antique wooden chairs with a small table in front of them. ‘You are my guests and, as is my custom, I have prepared a feast for you this evening. Make yourselves comfortable please.’

Sean watched the man’s demeanour. He was a short, stocky man, perhaps with a military background judging by his style and manner. Now he was presumably a warlord and chief smuggler. Jack had not given him any background whatsoever, so Sean was still unsure how this would all pan out. The man had a crew cut, numerous grubby tattoos on his arms and a small scar across his forehead. The big boss certainly acted as such. No handshakes. Formal and welcoming, but taut. Sean watched him wave a hand to his assistant.

‘Before we do business I have a small gift for you both. We are very welcoming people in Armenia and we like to look after our guests.’ The assistant presented a silver cigarette lighter and a silver trinket case to them. Nadège saw it fit to hand the lighter to Sean and the big boss laughed. Nadège’s relaxed impetuousness during the gift swopping was an icebreaker for the new business friendship, providing Sean with some relief.

‘My name is Oleg and I served for many years in the Soviet Army. I can find and sell anything. What about you?’ he asked, pointing a long arm at Sean.

 The office, located on a sliver of land along the River Hrazdan, was the base for one of the world’s most notorious nuclear smugglers, Oleg Achenco, a dual Russian-Ukrainian citizen nicknamed ‘Kapitán’. He was a fugitive wanted by the US and Moldovan authorities for attempting to sell weapons-grade uranium to Islamist terrorist groups in 2015 and 2016. One of his middlemen had been caught and shot in 2016 in a Moldovan sting operation, during which police had found the blueprints for a dirty bomb in his home. But the Kapitán escaped and set up shop in Armenia.

‘My name is Sean and I was a civil servant. I buy good-quality items now. I have brought a gift for you too.’

Sean leant into his rucksack and pulled out a full bottle of Isle of Jura whisky. ‘One of Scotland’s finest,’ he said, placing it on his desk.

‘Thank you. I like. Now to business, my friends. My team have confirmed me the deposit has been placed in my bank account. I need assurance you will place remaining fee once I show goods. You will not be able to depart until funds are in my account. Do you understand?’

Sean nodded, fully understanding his mispronunciations of the English language, delivered with a guttural Russian accent. ‘When can we see the product?’

‘Tomorrow morning,’ the Kapitán said, lighting a cigar and opening the whisky. His assistant brought glasses for everyone. ‘A mere mortal cannot just get his hands on this stuff you know. I needed multiple people in military to get this item. I’m glad it will be put to good use.’

Sean was glad of the walk-in GRU agent setting this up through his sources. Now that Sergei was a double agent for The Court, it opened the door to multiple operations for Jack to manage and exploit. Could this be his finest, Sean thought?

‘If you don’t mind me asking, where did you manage to get the product?’ Sean asked, knowing it was a bit brazen. But nothing ventured, nothing gained.

The Kapitán took a sip of his whisky and drew a long breath. ‘Aaah, a fine drink my friend. I shall tell you a story and you can decide if it is true.’

About the Author:

I started climbing at 13, survived being lost in Snowdonia at 14, nearly drowned at 15, and then joined the Army at 16. Risk and adventure was built into my DNA and I feel very fortunate to have served the majority of my working career as an intelligence officer within Defence Intelligence, and as an explosive ordnance disposal officer and military surveyor within the Corps of Royal Engineers.

I feel privileged to have served for twenty-eight years in the British Army as a soldier and officer, working in Defence Intelligence and Counter-Terrorist Bomb Disposal operations, rising through the ranks to complete my service as a major. I served across the globe on numerous military operations as well as extensive travel and adventure on many major mountaineering and exploration expeditions that I led or was involved in.

I was awarded the Geographic Medal by the Royal Geographical Society for mountain exploration and served on the screening committee of the Mount Everest Foundation charity for many years. It was humbling after so many years of service when I was awarded the MBE for services to counter-terrorism in 2007

Michael Jenkins: https://www.michaeljenkins.org/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thefailsafethrillers/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FailsafeQuery

Blog Tour Organized By:


What do you think about the book? Have you read this or previous book in the series? Are you going to add it to TBR?

wp-1608020799658..jpg

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin tumblr,

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive emails whenever I publish new post –


Instagram Posts-

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.