Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com

Hello Readers! I hope you you all had great week. Last week had been good. My husband got his vaccine and now I will register for it next week. We wanted to keep interval between his and mine vaccination (as we have heard some people get minor fever and immunity goes down a little) so just in case something happen, one of us could look after my daughter. I received a physical book for review (it’s been ages I got any physical book for review). My week in reading was good. I managed to read 3 books. Here is what I read…

Last Week I Read

The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth

The Good Sister, Mystery Thriller novel

riveting, compelling and engaging psychological thriller with amazing family dynamic and drama. I don’t see anything wrong with this book but I have to say The Mother-in-Law was even better than this. Review will be up next week.


Soul Lanterns by Shaw Kuzki, Emily Balistrieri (Translator)

soul-lanterns

An amazing translated Japanese book. Synopsis said it revolves around Nozomi but actually it’s story of three friends Nozomi, Kozo, and Shun, how they got the ide for cultural festival theme- Hiroshima Then and Now, and how they found more about the stories they already new by talking with their family. I loved the message in this book. Review will be up later this week.


All Drama, No Queen by Andaleeb Wajid

This is first book by the author. It’s been ages I read book by Indian author. This I later realised is continuation of previous book Twenty-nine Going on Thirty by the author and that’s I was little confused at the beginning as things happened in the beginning of chapter was so sudden without any explanation. But I could figure what might have happened in the middle of the story so in way it can be read standalone but I don’t advice that. Oh and I’m buying previous book, it’s pretty cheap and I do want to know story of other friends as they seem so great. They reminds me that Four More Shots show. Back to the book this had bit of everything, emotions, entertainment, friendship, love, and lots of drama. Definitely like Bollywood movies. Might be 4 stars for me but I still haven’t written a review so that might change later.

Currently Reading

The Berlin Zookeeper by Anna Stuart

Two women. One shocking wartime secret. And a family mystery just waiting to be discovered…

Berlin Zoo, 1943: Ten-year-old Adelaide and her newborn sister are orphaned after a devastating night of bombing. Heartbroken and frightened, Adelaide runs to her mother’s closest friend, Katharina Heinroth, and the kind zookeeper takes the two little girls under her protection. As the bombing intensifies, Adelaide tries to shut out the horrors of war by caring for her tiny sister and playing with the adorable baby monkeys. But when Katharina organises a dangerous operation to enable children and animals to escape the battle-scarred city, something goes wrong. And Adelaide has to promise her adopted mother to keep a shocking secret. A secret that will change Adelaide’s life forever.

Berlin Zoo, 2019: Bethan Taylor notices the elderly lady sitting on the bench next to her seems confused, her thoughts flitting between past and present. Ada talks of her childhood, played out in an underground bunker beneath the animal enclosures during the war. As Ada’s story unfolds, Bethan is surprised to hear a name she recognises…

Katharina Heinroth is at the top of a list of German names Bethan found in a hidden compartment of her late mother’s jewellery box. Bethan’s father couldn’t tell her anything about the crumpled piece of paper and she’s been searching for the meaning ever since.

As the two women are brought together by the pain of the past can they help each other to heal? And after decades of silence, can Ada help Bethan to uncover a long-buried family mystery?

An unforgettable and heart-wrenching novel of a brave orphan girl and a shocking wartime secret. Inspired by a true WW2 story and perfect for fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network. 

I’m just starting this one. I do like WWI and WWII theme books more and these days. I haven’t read a book set in Berlin before. This sounds really interesting and from prologue, I’m already curious to know the mystery behind the list of names Bethan came upon in her mother’s jewellery box when she was 11 after her mother’s death.

Next I’ll be Reading

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery (Little Beach Street Bakery #2) by Jenny Colgan

Summer has arrived in the Cornish town of Mount Polbearne and Polly Waterford couldn’t be happier. Because Polly is in love: she’s in love with the beautiful seaside town she calls home, she’s in love with running the bakery on Beach Street, and she’s in love with her boyfriend, Huckle.

And yet there’s something unsettling about the gentle summer breeze that’s floating through town. Selina, recently widowed, hopes that moving to Mount Polbearne will ease her grief, but Polly has a secret that could destroy her friend’s fragile recovery. Responsibilities that Huckle thought he’d left behind are back and Polly finds it hard to cope with his increasingly long periods of absence.

Polly sifts flour, kneads dough and bakes bread, but nothing can calm the storm she knows is coming: is Polly about to lose everything she loves? 

It’s high time continue this trilogy as it’s summer and I wanted to finish this for so long.

Readerly

After reading, Kal’s post on All About Readerly I wanted to try this new Goodreads alternative app. Kal had invites as well that made it easy for me to sign up as there is waiting list unless you have invite code. This app looks great, it’s simple and easy to navigate and I like ‘to the point things’- write what you think about book in overall in just 200 words (less than a tweet), then add things to know (like, fast/slow pace, narrative, trope and so on..), warning, quotes, characters, similar books it reminds you of, and who would like this. I’m using a free version that means I don’t get curated recommendation but it’s still great. If you want to sign up Readerly I have only 3 invites right now, so first three person who DM me on Twitter (@BooksTnReview) will get the code.


Thank you for reading! Let’s chat…

How was your week?
Have you red any of these books or planning to read?
What are you reading this week?

Blog Instagram Twitter Facebook Pinterest Goodreads


Just in case you missed….


If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive email whenever I publish new post-


13 Comments

  1. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Readerly – hope you continue to enjoy it! And thanks so much for the mention! I’m glad you liked the review! 🙂

Leave a comment

booksteacupnreviews

Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life.

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
Skip to content
%d bloggers like this: