#BookReview : Rags-to-Riches Wife by Catherine Tinley #HistoricalRomance #RagstoRichesWife @CatherineTinley

Rags-to-Riches Wife by Catherine Tinley
Publication Date : January 23rd 2020
Publisher : Mills & Boon
Genre : Historical Romance
Page : 368

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is synopsis_edited.jpg

Lady’s maid…

To wedded Lady?

Lady’s maid Jane Bailey’s life is turned upside down by the arrival of wealthy gentleman Robert Kendal. He’s come to take Jane to visit her long-lost, aristocratic grandfather. Travelling together, they succumb to a mutual attraction. Yet Jane knows a maid should not hope to love a gentleman, even if she’s suddenly wearing silk dresses and dining with the Family. Society decrees they cannot marry, but how long can Jane deny her heart? 


*** Note: I won this book in giveaways ***

Rags-to-Riches Wife was lovely historical romance that revolved around Jane Bailey, a lady’s maid whose life changed when her estranged aristocratic grandfather called her to his estate. It was about class difference, forbidden romance, rich people’s behaviour towards servants, prejudice, judgement, and family drama.

Writing was beautiful, descriptive and vivid that took me back to regency era. Book was mostly set in Yorkshire at grand and impressive Beechmount Hall where Jane’s grandfather lived. Story was written in third person narrative from both Jane and Robert’s perspective which helped in understanding what was going on in their head and what they felt about the whole situation.

Plot was interesting, engaging, pretty straightforward. Book started with Jane losing her father and how their life changed after that; how Jane and her mother worked hard, found employer, earned their the position at Ledbury house in Bedfordshire; and Jane’s friendly relationship with her employer, Lady Kingswood, who taught her many things including education. At the same time Robert was sent from Yorkshire to Bedfordshire to fetch Jane at his uncle- Mr. Millinthrope’s order who didn’t know the reason behind the summon.  But when he reached Ledbury house Jane and her mother knew the reason. Mr. Millinthrope was Jane’s grandfather who was estranged from her father as he couldn’t accept Jane mother for her lower status. After a bit discussion and dilema Jane agreed to travel with Robert. And so started their romantic journey. I was curious to see when and how Jane will tell Robert why his uncle summoned her and how will it affect their growing friendship and feelings.

Jane was perfect heroine. Beautiful, skilled and educated, respectful, fiery, and determined but was vulnerable. The nightmare of sexual assault still haunted her and Jane had panic attacks when something triggered those memory. I liked how delicately it was handled and how Jane found strength and safety in Robert’s company and overcame her fears.

Her feeling of loneliness, unfair and unwelcome treatment at Beechmount Hall was heart felt. I could see how tough it was to live in house where everybody looked down on her and even servant didn’t accept her. But still I admired her self-discipline and never complained or cried. Her dilemma of how to behave after arriving at Beechmount Hall and after her grandfather’s declaration was realistic. She couldn’t figure out who she was, a servant or lady of Beechmount Hall. It was difficult adjustment and change for her. I loved the way things turned out for her and how she understood who she really was.

Robert was introvert, reserved gentleman who helped his uncle maintaining estate. He was responsible, caring and kind person but I do feel he had a bit of tantrum issue. If anything troubled him he would gallop on his horse rather than talking it out and even after his head is clear from horse riding he wouldn’t voice his thoughts easily. That made book a bit longer and made me eye roll at his reaction to all things, but on the whole, I like him.

Best part of the book was descriptions of Beechmount Hall, representation of class difference, attire and fashion, conduct, etiquettes, and mind set of people, and soirée. It truly brought me to different time and era.

Romance was slow built and delightful. I enjoyed reading Jane and Robert’s journey from Ledbury house to Beechmount, how they got to know each other more, how their feeling grew from respect to friendship. They even shared kiss and started loving each other but they didn’t know it was love. Foolishness of Mr. Millinthrope breached their blossoming relationship but I liked how soirée mended things between them.

I could guess few things but climax was surprising. I wasn’t expecting such turns of events after soirée. It was sad time and when Jane and Robert were given opportunity to be together guess what they took whole 50 pages to grab it- tsk, tsk. All I wanted to do was lock them in a room and make them talk to each other, end would have come 50 pages earlier. Strangely I don’t regret it. Loved the end, despite all conflicts and drama love won at the end. I want to read more historical romance after this.

Why 4.5 stars-

Story felt a bit longer because of Jan and Robert’s inability to talk things and solve their issue.

On a lighter note, why that heroine’s eyes on cover is not blue? Jane’s eye were blue, so very blue. It doesn’t look blue to me on cover.😅

Overall,

Rags-to-Riches Wife was delightful and absorbing, well written regency romance with likable characters and plot.


I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know in comments what do you think about this book and my reviewhave you read this book already or any book by the same author. Which is you favourite historical romance set in regency era?

Happy Reading!

Footer Banner_edited
Follow me-

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive emails whenever I write new post-



Weekly Wrap-Up (27/6/’20) #WeekinReading #WeeklyWrapup

Hello Readers! I hope you had great week. Last week had been amazing. I was nominated for #2020BOOKBLOGGERAWARDS as supportive blogger by The Book Princess Reviews. This is first time I have been nominated and I still can’t believe it. I also wrote my nomination post, if you missed reading here it is. – https://booksteacupnreviews.com/2020/07/24/2020bookbloggerawards-nominations/ (I have also added few more bloggers as I missed requirement of nominating small bloggers so check them out)

What I read last week-

Don’t Turn Around by Jessica Barry

I saw mixed reviews on this but this turned out better than I expected. I wasn’t exactly expecting the theme of abortion and women’s feeling about it and prolife protestors. Climax was a bit implausible but overall I enjoyed reading this. Review will be up on 29th.

Cynthia Smart’s Midwife Crisis by Liz Davies

Am I reading lot of book about moms or pregnancy and topics around it? Maybe and I enjoy them. This was lovely and refreshing. Cynthia pregnant at age 44 is ambitious woman who wanted CEO position of her boss, boss doesn’t tolerate sick employee and even less pregnant/family women at higher position and moreover her brought new rival for the same position on board who happed to be so handsome and nice. It was interesting to see how Cynthia was going to cope with all these things and what will she do about her situation.

Rags-to-Riches Wife by Catherine Tinley

Forbidden romance, dresses, estates, and family drama – That’s I need to enjoy historical fiction. I liked Jane. Losing her father, suffering days she and her mother endured after his death till they found employer and their life as servant, sudden unexpected change in life when her estranged grandfather found her was all narrated beautifully. Twist and turns were good and I loved how things turned out at the end. End was bit stretched but I want read more historical romance after this.

Next I’ll be reading-

Judenrein by Harold Benjamin

Zack Gurevitz has had a checkered past. A Yeshiva boy, turned Green Beret, turned junkie, excommunicated by his one-time faith and now the potential savior of people he doesn’t even like.

As a white supremacist movement stealthily takes the reins of power in America, it is again the Jews who are made out as scapegoats. Stripped of wealth and citizenship, they are made to live in 21st century ghettos that hark back to a sinister and murky past that many had thought would never return.

But things are about to get much worse. With the revealing of a planned terror attack that will place the blame firmly at Jewish feet and condemn millions to death, Zack is contacted by Jewish leaders in Detroit, begging for his help.

Reluctantly he agrees and before long he is mired in a conspiracy that will have far reaching consequences for his country, the Jewish population and even his own sanity.

As the clock ticks down, can Zack find a way to avert a looming disaster? Who is behind the conspiracy? And can he really trust anyone? 

Looks like it is about supremacy and anti-Semitic. I haven’t read reviews on this I downloaded this from NetGalley after I got request from author. It sounds interesting dystopia thriller.

As Luck Would Have It by Zoe May

A hilarious and charming read that had me turning the pages until I’d devoured the whole book in one sitting… Sweet, heart-warming and full of gorgeously escapist descriptions… A must-read.’ Daily Express, 5 stars

Natalie Jackson might keep up appearances on Instagram, but in reality her fiancé has just jilted her after the birth of their baby and she’s moved back in with her mum. Life isn’t exactly going to plan!

So when she enters the village raffle for the holiday of a lifetime, she thinks she has no chance of winning. But her name is pulled out – and, as luck would have it, so is a ticket bought by her childhood nemesis: Will Brimble.

Surely a romantic holiday for two is the worst idea ever…right?

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sophie Ranald and Lindsey Kelk. 

This will be my 4th book by Zoe May and I’m expecting this to be as entertaining as previous books I read. I can’t wait to see how this holiday is going to turn out for Natalie.

Girls of Summer by Nancy Thayer

From star-crossed matches to unexpected love triangles, summer on Nantucket always holds the promise of romance in this sensational novel from New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer.

Lisa Hudson feels more alive than she has in a long time after hiring hunky carpenter Mack Whitney to renovate her old Nantucket home. There’s no denying the spark growing between them–despite the fact that Mack is ten years her junior. But her twentysomething children, Juliet and Theo, on the island for the summer, worry that the new relationship will only lead to Lisa’s heartbreak.

Yet Juliet and Theo are in for tangled love stories all their own. When dreamy Cooper Hastings moves to the island to pursue a new environmental venture, Juliet feels an unwelcome attraction, her rocky romantic history pushing her to steer clear of love. Theo only has eyes for Mack’s daughter, Bethany, with whom he was bound by an unspeakable tragedy in high school–but can they overcome their past? By August, when an impending storm threatens to shatter the peace of the golden island, everyone discovers what they can and cannot control. Nancy Thayer dazzles again with this new tale of a magical summer. 

This is going to be simultaneous read and last book I received in May. I have seen positive review on this one so I’m excited to read this.


I  hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know in comments what you read last week, what you are planning to read next, and if you have read any of these books.

Happy Reading!

Footer Banner_edited
Follow me-

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive emails whenever I publish new post –